The 2016 DICE Awards livestream and liveblog


Click here for a list of the show’s big winners.


9:08: And that wraps it up. Congratulations to all the winners and nominees. Thanks for joining our liveblog and we will see you at the Next Save Point.

9:05: DICE 2016 Game of the Year Award goes to Fallout 4.

9:04: The big award Game of the Year is being presented by Mark Darrah.

9:02: Outstanding Achievement in Game Direction goes to Fallout 4.

9:01: The Witcher 3 Wild Hunt wins Outstanding Achievement in Game Design.

9:00: Randy Pitchford and Ted Price presenting Outstanding Achievement in Game Design.

8:58: The DICE Sprite Award goes to Rocket League.

8:57: Adventure game of the year is awarded to Metal Gear Solid V: The Phantom Pain. Konami was not able to be there to accept the award. Mixed claps and boos were audible from the audience.

8:55: Kiki Wolfkill and Jordan Mechner are presenting the nominees for adventure game of the year.

8:51: Scott Ferguson accepts the Technical Impact Award.

8:47: Rich Hillman is onstage to present the Technical Impact Award to Microsoft Visual Basic.

8:46: Handheld game of the year goes to Helldivers.

8:45: The winner for best online game of the year is Rocket League.

8:44: Racing game of the year is awarded to Forza Motorsport 6.

8:43: Sports game of the year goes to Rocket League.

8:42: Sports, racing, online and handheld awards going out in a montage.

8:40: There’s nothing more fun than making games” – Hideo Kojima

8:39: Kojima receives a standing ovation from the audience in the room.

8:38: Hideo Kojima takes the stage to accept his award and Hall of Fame induction.

8:36: A video of Hideo Kojima’s story telling and designing accomplishments and history is now rolling.

8:35: “He is to gaming what Cameron or Spielberg is to movies.” – Guillermo del Toro

8:32: Guillermo del Toro onstage for Hideo Kojima’s induction into the Hall of Fame.

8:30 Strategy/Simulation Game of the Year Award goes to Heroes of the Storm.

8:28: Role Playing/Massively Multiplayer game of the year goes to Fallout 4.

8:26: Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction goes to Ori and the Blind Forest.

8:24: Schaffer is back to present the nominees for Outstanding Achievement in Art Direction.

8:23: Ori and the Blind Forest wins Outstanding Achievement in Animation.

8:21: Tim Schaffer on stage now for Outstanding Achievement in Animation nominees.

8:21: The award for Outstanding Technical Achievement goes to The Witcher 3 Wild Hunt.

8:19: Outstanding Achievement in Story goes to The Witcher 3 Wild Hunt.

8:18: The Outstanding Achievement in Sound Design award goes to Star Wars Battlefront.

8:17: Outstanding Achievment in Original Music Composition goes to Ori and the Blind Forest.

8:15: “You were never second to us, you’ll always be number one.” – Reggie Fils-Amie on Satoru Iwata

8:08: Satoru Iwata is the recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award for DICE 2016. Reggie Fils-Amie is accepting on his behalf.

8:07: We have a video tribute to Iwata with clips of the man himself discussing video games. “Games are for everyone.”

8:04: The very serious tribute to Iwata is being absolutely ruined by the sound of what we can only assume if the wait staff collecting and stacking the entire audience’s plates and silverware. It’s been incredibly distracting.

8:02: It is really hard to hear over the sound of clanking plates and silverware from the audience’s dinner.

8:00: a tribute to Satoru Iwata is being honored with a tribute.

7:56: Outstanding Achievement in Character award goes to Rise of the Tomb Raider for Lara Croft.

7:55: Courtney Taylor and Troy Baker have taken the stage.

7:55: Fallout Shelter wins mobile game of the year.

7:54: Ryan and Josh still on stage to present the nominees for mobile game of the year.

7:52: And the winner for Family Game of the Year is Super Mario Maker.

7:50: That Dragon Cancer and Luminous Games’ Ryan Green and Josh Larson are on stage for best family game nominees.

7:49: A special announcement from the academy detailing how the awards are selected for nomination, finalists and winner.

7:49: Mortal Kombat wins Fighting Game of the Year.

7:48: Fighting Game of the Year nominees are next.

7:47: Star Wars Battlefront wins Action Game of the Year.

7:46: Action game of the year nominees are being mentioned before the award is handed out.

7:45: #holmessweetholmes

7:43: “These are the jokes guys, we’re wrapping up in about 30 seconds, if you have a special laugh you’ve been saving.”

7:42: Poor Pete Holmes has had to repeat several punchlines involving multiple video game puns.

7:39: Holmes is not doing well, bombed on a Witcher 3 joke. Crowd has been pretty quiet so far.

7:37: Holmes is now doing a 10 minute set of stand up comedy, mentioning video games, religion and politics.

7:34: Holmes is wearing a nice fancy tuxedo “put down your dinner rolls, let’s fuck shit up!”

7:33: Pete Holmes takes the stage as the host for tonight’s show.

7:30: The show opens with a video featuring the names of the games/honorees for tonight.


Tonight at 7:30PM PST the 19th Annual DICE Awards will take place in Las Vegas, Nevada. Check this page as we host a livestream and liveblog all of the awards and presentations. In addition to awards, the show will also induct Hideo Kojima into the Hall of Fame and honor Shigeru Miyomoto with the Lifetime Achievement Award.



About Joshua Russo

Josh has been playing video games since before he learned how to read and write. He fell in love with both and eventually combined the two to create the Next Save Point. His favorite video game series' are Pokémon, Uncharted, Mass Effect, Dragon Quest, Fallout and Borderlands.

View all posts by Joshua Russo →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *